Washington DC Calendar Listing – Washington DC Activities for Kids

 


Calendar for Family Events

Exhibit: Artifacts of Outlander

Presented by Gaithersburg Community Museum at Gaithersburg Community Museum, Gaithersburg

January 09 - March 03

The Gaithersburg Community Museum is delighted to host The Artifacts of Outlander, a traveling exhibit from the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory (MAC Lab), part of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum (JPPM). The exhibit, on display March 3, draws comparisons between the material culture of Maryland in the 1740’s, and that of Scotland at the same time, as depicted in the popular Starz television series. By 1740, Maryland had been a colony for more than 100 years and would... [more+]
The Gaithersburg Community Museum is delighted to host The Artifacts of Outlander, a traveling exhibit from the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory (MAC Lab), part of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum (JPPM). The exhibit, on display March 3, draws comparisons between the material culture of Maryland in the 1740’s, and that of Scotland at the same time, as depicted in the popular Starz television series. By 1740, Maryland had been a colony for more than 100 years and would soon join the struggle to overthrow English rule. Artifacts of Outlander explores the everyday life of colonial Marylanders through the historical and archaeological record. The Gaithersburg Community Museum... is open Tuesday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Admission is free. Visit www.gaithersburgmd.gov or call 301-258-6160 for more information.The MAC Lab is a State-owned facility serving as the primary repository for collections excavated in Maryland. Artifacts come to the MAC Lab from every part of the state, and many of the most impressive assemblages date to the 18th century. For this traveling exhibit, some favorite finds from colonial Maryland collections have been taken out of storage so visitors can see how they compare to those in 18th-century Scotland. The display features horse tack, drinking glasses, firearms, clothing fasteners, wig hair curlers, and rare organic survivals such as 18th-century corks and leather. Period dramas often need to take creative license with sets and costumes in order to facilitate the filming process, and while these compromises can frustrate history buffs looking for a 100% realistic depiction of the past, Maryland’s artifacts prove that much of the material in Outlander is remarkably accurate.Since it’s opening in 2015, the Artifacts of Outlander has been traveling to regional libraries and museums in Maryland, educating people about the unique resources at JPPM and the MAC Lab. Starz has been supportive of this exhibit that allows local museums to tap into public enthusiasm for the series to help promote Maryland’s archaeological collections. For more information on the exhibit visit http://www.jefpat.org/outlander.html. [less-]

Dates & times

Fri, Jan 19 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 20 @ 10:00 am Tue, Jan 23 @ 10:00 am + 29 more dates and times

Wed, Jan 24 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 25 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 26 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 27 @ 10:00 am Tue, Jan 30 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 31 @ 10:00 am Thu, Feb 01 @ 10:00 am Fri, Feb 02 @ 10:00 am Sat, Feb 03 @ 10:00 am Tue, Feb 06 @ 10:00 am Wed, Feb 07 @ 10:00 am Thu, Feb 08 @ 10:00 am Fri, Feb 09 @ 10:00 am Sat, Feb 10 @ 10:00 am Tue, Feb 13 @ 10:00 am Wed, Feb 14 @ 10:00 am Thu, Feb 15 @ 10:00 am Fri, Feb 16 @ 10:00 am Sat, Feb 17 @ 10:00 am Tue, Feb 20 @ 10:00 am Wed, Feb 21 @ 10:00 am Thu, Feb 22 @ 10:00 am Fri, Feb 23 @ 10:00 am Sat, Feb 24 @ 10:00 am Tue, Feb 27 @ 10:00 am Wed, Feb 28 @ 10:00 am Thu, Mar 01 @ 10:00 am Fri, Mar 02 @ 10:00 am Sat, Mar 03 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free

301-258-6160

museum@gaithersburgmd.gov

Location

Gaithersburg Community Museum Arrow icon

9 S. Summit Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Full map and directions Arrow icon