Washington DC Calendar Listing – Washington DC Activities for Kids

 


Calendar for Family Events

Home Before Sunset: Celebration of a Rural Community

Presented by Countryside Artisans of Maryland at Sandy Spring Museum, Sandy Spring

September 27 - November 17

In 1814, the Quakers built their meeting house in Sandy Spring village. A six-mile radius from the Sandy Spring Meeting House defined that rural community, as this was the farthest members of the Meeting could travel to and from the meeting house by horse or carriage in one day, arriving home before sunset.Today, we can travel farther than six miles in one day and still be home by sunset, but the foundation of a rural community still lies within that day trip. The Countryside Artisans of... [more+]
In 1814, the Quakers built their meeting house in Sandy Spring village. A six-mile radius from the Sandy Spring Meeting House defined that rural community, as this was the farthest members of the Meeting could travel to and from the meeting house by horse or carriage in one day, arriving home before sunset.Today, we can travel farther than six miles in one day and still be home by sunset, but the foundation of a rural community still lies within that day trip. The Countryside Artisans of Maryland, a group of artists that live in the countryside within a day’s drive, brings that rural community back to life. Wind your way through the exhibit and experience this rural way of life and community.image: Blue Mountain by Tina Thieme Brown [less-]

Dates & times

Wed, Oct 24 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 25 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 26 @ 10:00 am + 13 more dates and times

Sat, Oct 27 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 31 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 01 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 02 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 03 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 07 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 08 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 09 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 10 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 14 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 15 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 16 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 17 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free admission

Ticket Website

Location

Sandy Spring Museum Arrow icon

17901 Bentley Road, Sandy Spring, MD 20860

Full map and directions Arrow icon